Date Night Diaries : Saboten

This rainy weather has been driving me batty!

Now that the rainy season has started, and the wet gloomy weather almost an everyday occurence, it seems that the only way for me to battle the blues is with some good old comfort food.

Nothing says comfort to me like a bowl of hot, steaming miso soup, sticky japanese rice, and deep fried tonkatsu.  Thank goodness I didn’t have to look far to satisfy this craving…Enter Saboten, the newest tonkatsu place to hit the BGC dining scene!

Slide3

Actually, Saboten has been open for a while now.  But the H and I decided to let the lines dissipate first, before giving it a try.  While the restaurant still gets very full (and unfortunately, they don’t accept reservations), we were quite lucky to get accommodated right away last Wednesday, when we walked into the restaurant.

Slide1

Slide2

This is what I ordered:

Slide5

While the “best seller” is ofcourse the tenderloin or loin set, I wanted to try their seafood as well.  I ended up opting for the mixed set, which was a combination of tenderloin, shrimp and creamy crab.

The tenderloin was as expected–yummy!  Tender, juicy, lean, soft, and with just the right amount of batter.  I’ve been watching my food choices lately so I was happy to note that despite being deep fried, this dish did not feel overly oily and greasy either.

The shrimp and creamy crab were also good, but I think I will most probably just order an entire tenderloin set the next time I’m there, after having tried and compared all three.

Slide4

Our meal sets came with unlimited cabbage, and miso soup.  I enjoyed my cabbage very much with the asian creamy sesame dressing.  This is probably the only time you’ll ever catch me eating this much uncooked cabbage.  Hahaha!

And the miso soup just hit the spot, providing much comfort to my belly on that wet, drizzly night.

The verdict?

The H and I really enjoyed our Saboten meal, and you can bet we will be back for more!  The sets are a complete meal in itself, and definitely hit the spot when craving for some good ol’ tonkatsu.

Leave a Reply

