{Party Planning} A Shower for Maggie

One of my BFF’s Nina is about to give birth soon to her 4th (yep, 4th!!!) daughter, Margarita–Maggie for short.

And did you know that Margarita is spanish for Daisy flower?

So how appropriate was it that we threw her this floral-themed baby shower?!? 🙂

Slide1

The beauty of planning for this party was that it only took me and my co-conspirators, C and D, all of 30 minutes to plan over Viber, and we divided the tasks quite equally too!

Since I was dying for a project, ofcourse, I took care of the event styling.  C, who is a whiz at baking, made all the desserts!  And D, our barkada food expert, took care of the menu.

Here is how everything turned out…

Slide2

These cartolina flowers were quite a challenge to make, but I think they turned out well, nonetheless :).  For a change, I wanted a backdrop that had a little bit more depth, hence the large, 3-dimensional flowers :).

Slide3

Slide4

Don’t you think C totally outdid herself with the desserts?  And to think she had 3 big orders that weekend!  We had a single layer chocolate cake, cupcakes, sugar cookies and mango panna cotta!  What a spread, right? 🙂

For the dessert table design, my favorite detail was the floral print.  I wrote about it in a previous blog post.  I used it as liners for the cupcake stands, for the banners, and I also used it as a background for the special “M” I made in honor of Baby Maggie 🙂  In hindsight, though, I should have cut out a thicker “M” so that it would be more visible :).

You’ll notice I used the little one’s toys to add to the decor :).  That’s her wooden teapot and creamer set just behind the cupcakes.  Hahaha! 🙂  I also used one of her favorite bears, and her stuffed bunny :).  I had to be resourceful…Hahaha!

Here are some of the other design elements of the party…

Slide5

A sea of crepe paper flowers for the centerpiece!  Cheap, but has impact! Hahaha!

Slide6

A simple arrangement of baby’s breath inside A’s food bottles served many purposes–decor, place card and souvenir!!! 🙂

Slide7

A confetti system used to decorate the buffet table.  I had fun making this one! 🙂 Again, very affordable, yet festive and impactful :).

I really had such a wonderful time making all the decor for N’s baby shower! Even better, the celebrant loved the ambience and event styling too!  And that’s what counts–hahaha!  And it didn’t even cost me that much either!  Goes to show that a little bit of creativity and lots of tiyaga will go a long way :).

Slide8

The gang’s all here!

These ladies have been my friends since Grade School!

We may not see each other as often, but I am lucky to have them in my life 🙂

2 responses to “{Party Planning} A Shower for Maggie

  1. You’re really so creative! I want to be like you when I grow up. ☺ Hahaha! Love the details.

Leave a Reply

