Art Fair Philippines 2013

Wow.  I love how the art scene in Manila has totally leveled up!

Slide16

Last February 9th, my art-slash-food-slash-shopping buddy M and I dropped by the contemporary Art Fair at The Link in Ayala Center.  My first thought as we drove to the location–I wonder where the Art Fair will be?  As far as I knew, The Link had about two floors of shops and restaurants, and the rest of the floors were for the parking lot.  When we finally got to the building, the signs pointed us to the 6th floor.  Cool!  An actual parking floor was transformed into the setting for the Art Fair!  I was loving it already :).  Quite an unusual choice of backdrop, but very urban chic :).

Slide17

I loved that there was all kinds of everything in the art show. Different types of media, subject matter, a kaleidoscope of color and the absence of it…Definitely, Filipino creativity was evident and screaming loud and proud that day!

Here were some of my favorites.  Warning: I took LOTS of pictures!  Hahaha! 🙂

Slide18

Slide19

I would definitely love to own an Orlina someday…

Slide20

Slide21

Slide22

Slide23

For some reason, I seem to be drawn to the lines and folds on his face…

Slide24

This mixed media artwork was interesting and captivating.

Slide25

A bit creepy, but I appreciate the craftsmanship…

Slide26

Slide27

It was nice to see Ginny Alcaide’s work on display.  She has truly come a long way!  I’m so happy her art is gaining  a lot of attention! 🙂

Slide28

I love murals too…

Slide29

This kaleidoscope of color was projected onto a wall…

Slide30

This expression looks familiar to me…

Slide31

The Secret Fresh gallery was quirky and vibrantly red…

Slide32

Is He the man?

Slide33

Shuma-Chanel and Ume-LV

Slide35

Slide34

I love the idea of line drawings on a light box…

Slide36

This artist’s wooden “altars” were my favorite in the entire show.  I love how she used simple, found objects.

Slide37

Slide38

I want this!!!!!!

Slide40

And this too!!!!

Slide39

Slide41

Amazing!

Slide42

I would love to know what was in this artist’s head when he put this together… 🙂

Slide43

Obviously, I had too much fun at the Philippine Art Fair! 🙂  Hahaha!  It was nice to see many fellow art lovers milling about as well, appreciating the work and the talent on display.  It was a great way to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon :).

Next stop, Art in the Park!  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

