The Weekend That Was

While on the subject of art, just wanted to share pictures from my watercolor class this weekend…

Slide01

Yup, 2013 is my year to be creative!

Slide02

Just looking at the colors on this palette made me feel so giddy and excited and ready to get started!

Slide03

But first, we began with some basics.

Slide04

We learned about 12 different techniques.

Slide05

It was actually a very full class!

Slide06

Here are my finished products.  Not too shabby, I think!  Hahaha!  And I soooo had a wonderful time painting them!  Watercoloring is definitely relaxing and not as frustrating as I thought it would be.  Hahaha!  I think I’ve found myself a new love :).

Slide07

Slide08

Slide09

These are our works on display.  As a culminating activity, we were asked to watercolor our name using basic shapes, what we had for breakfast, and to watercolor the first letter of our name, using the wet on wet technique then embellishing with flowers.  So much talent in the room, right?  Everyone did a wonderful job!

Slide10

This is Alessa :).  Not only is she one of my favorite bloggers (I live vicariously through her art), but she was also the host of the watercolor crafternoon.  She is truly a rockstar in my book!

Slide11

And here is our class–all 30 something of us 🙂  Thanks to Alessa’s H, PJ, for the photograph :).

Next week, it’ll be rubber stamping time!  I can’t wait!

lifeafterbreakfast.com

5 responses to “The Weekend That Was

  1. Hi, Mia! It was nice to see you and Bey again yesterday. I also had a great time doing our activity. Oh, I wanted to attend the rubber stamping, but it’s already full! Will have to be quick in registering next time. 🙂

    • Hi Ginnie! Yes, definitely nice seeing you and Bey again 🙂 Sayang you both won’t be there for the rubber stamping. I’m pretty sure Alessa will have another one though so hopefully you’ll be able to attend the next one 🙂

  2. Beautiful artwork, Mia!! AL is amazing and a true inspiration…so are you! I had signed up for drawing and painting at our local arts center (where E also goes for toddler art workshops) =) but you’ve inspired me to sign up for Watercolor in particular. Found a great class in the city and I cannot wait!

    • Awwww, shucks :). Thanks, Tina! I’m sure you’ll enjoy all your classes :). Art is such a wonderful outlet–and with immediate gratification too! Hahaha! The next class I’d love to enroll in is letterpress! Unfortunately, no one holds that type of class here in Manila :(.

      • Why not enroll in a class in NYC then bring the art of letterpress to Manila?! 🙂 I on the other hand would love to attend AL’s workshops there!

Leave a Reply

