Handcraft Holiday

Just before the Christmas madness began, I found time to do one of the things I love to do the most–craft!

Yup, I’m a crafter :).  And I’ve been one for as long as I can remember.  When I was little, I used to make lots of things–bookmarks, stationery, comic books, picture frames, jewelry, t-shirts, etc. etc.  I even sold some of them to my classmates :)!  That didn’t last very long, though, as I discovered that I’m more of a creative rather than a business person–hahaha!

As an adult, I’ve had less time to craft, and I miss it so :(.   While my job allows me to exercise a lot of creativity, it’s just not the same as making something with my hands :(. During the few times I’ve had the opportunity, I try to go all out. The last crafty thing I did was the decor for my daughter’s 2nd birthday party. Read all about it here.

So when one of my favorite bloggers, Alessa of lifeafterbreakfast.com, announced that she was holding a Handmade Holiday session, I jumped at the chance and signed up!  I’ve been wanting to join her crafternoons for the longest time, but it’s either I don’t have the time, or I already have something planned for that specific weekend.  However, as fate would have it, December 9 was a rare, free Sunday for me!  Yipee!  So I was super duper excited to participate in this afternoon of crafting and creating :).

The Handmade Holiday session was intended for crafters to get together, and make gifts for the special people on their Christmas list.  We were provided with materials such as wooden beads, paints, canvas bags, rubber blocks, kraft paper, stamp pads, wooden tags, etc. etc. so we could create handmade, personalized presents, and even wrap or package them in a creative, unique way.

Earlier on, I had decided I wanted to make some rubber stamps, so that’s what I worked on the entire afternoon.  Here are images of the super fun session:

Slide1
Slide3
Slide2

Slide4

Alessa also fed us some really yummy snacks while we were crafting–kamote chips and vegetarian lasagna! 🙂 Sarap! 🙂

Slide6

It was really such a fun afternoon!  I got to meet several crafters, and spent the entire time doing something I love :).  I actually got so lost in the moment that I didn’t feel the hours whizz by so fast!  At 5PM, I was super bitin, and equally sad to leave :(.  Huhuhu  :(.

If anything, this Handmade Holiday session only made me realize how I’d like to do more creative things and pursue more of my passions in 2013.  These have taken a back seat to work and mommy duties lately, but I’ve decided that I’d like to push myself a bit more to make the time this year :).  2013 will be MY YEAR to get creative!  Woohoo!

I am so excited!  Wish me luck 🙂  This is definitely one goal that I’m determined to make happen! 🙂

Leave a comment