I am Loving…

Tema & Variazioni Fornasetti Plates!!!

I’ve actually been obsessing over these plates for a while now.  I think they’re beautiful!  There’s something about that face–so beguiling, mysterious and intriguing…

Designed by Pierro Fornasetti, a Milanese painter, sculptor, interior decorator and engraver, these plates are his renditions of Lina Calavieri, an opera singer whose face he encountered while leafing through a 19th Century French magazine.  Lina’s face fascinated Fornasetti, and gave him enough inspiration to create infinite variations of her image.

I guess you could say that Lina Calavieri became Fornasetti’s most enduring muse, her face the epitome of classic beauty.  I think he may have designed over 350 different versions of her expression!  How’s that for inspiration? 🙂

One day, you will be mine.  I promise.

For now, I’ll have to content myself with looking at these images.  *Drool*

1. downandoutchic.blogspot.com  2. decorpad.com  3. thedesignpage.blogspot.com  4. onekingslane.com  5. remodelista.com  6. thedesignpage.blogspot.com

One response to “I am Loving…

  1. Cool plates! Very cute and sometimes funny. Her eyes remind me of your little A. 🙂

Leave a Reply

