Cupcakes 24/7

Every so often, I get a craving for a cupcake.

I blame this on Buttercup Bakery.  Ever since I tried their version of the red velvet cupcake, I was hooked!  There’s something about rich red chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting that makes my taste buds sing!  Their classic vanilla cupcake is to die for as well.  Happiness on a plate, indeed! 🙂  And for a dessert lover like me, it certainly hits the (sweet) spot.

Now can you imagine being able to satisfy your cupcake cravings 24/7?  Can you imagine not having to wait for the corner bakeshop to open before indulging yourself in your favorite cupcakes?

This is the idea behind Sprinkles Cupcakes’ 24-hour cupcake automat.  It is the first-ever machine of its kind, dispensing cupcakes just like an ATM so customers can have access to freshly baked cupcake goodies any time of the day, even during the wee hours of the morning!  Genius, right?

The first cupcake ATM was launched by Sprinkles founder Candace Nelson and is located right outside their original Beverly Hills bakeshop.  Customers simply need to insert their credit card and pay the $4 cost to be able to choose their cupcake via touchscreen.  Among the available flavors are the hugely popular red velvet, chocolate, vanilla, chocolate marshmallow and Irish chocolate.

According to Nelson, the idea for the cupcake ATM came to her when she was pregnant with her second child.  “I thought to myself, I’m the owner of a cupcake bakery and even I can’t get a cupcake in the middle of the night. So I had to come up with something.”

And we are sooooo glad you did, Candace!

Even if I have to content myself with a virtual sugar high for now, it’s nice to know that there is something to look forward to when I visit LA.  Or hopefully, the Sprinkles cupcake ATM will make its way over to the East Coast—that would be even better!

Click here to see how the Sprinkles Cupcake ATM works!

Images via blogs.laweekly.com, abcnews.go.com, sprinkles.com

One response to “Cupcakes 24/7

  1. When is the cupcake ATM coming to Kansas? *smile* We really need one of those.

Leave a Reply

