Musings of a COO: Lose More, Live More

I’ve always been a chubby girl.  Boo :(.

What can I say–I looooooove to eat, and I don’t really like to exercise :(. Unfortunately, I’ve not been blessed with “thin genes” either.  How I wish I could be one of those girls who could eat anything they want and not have to gain a single pound or inch on their waist.  *Sigh*

Eating...

...again...

...and again...

...and again!!! 🙂

Losing weight has always been a challenge for me, especially now that I’m older and my metabolism is as slow as a turtle :(.  Haha!  I’ve tried several types of diets that have helped me to successfully shed both inches and pounds, but once I got off the diet, both inches and pounds returned with a vengeance!  Hahaha!

It’s not just about the weight loss anymore, though.  It’s about looking good, feeling great, living more, and opening up the possibilities for myself.  When I feel healthy, it definitely makes me feel like I can do anything and everything!

Especially now that I  have a very active one year old, health plays such an important role so that I can keep up better with her, without getting tired easily. I’ll probably have more energy as well to pursue other activities or projects that I’ve been putting off either because I’ve been too tired or feel too heavy.

Another bonus is fitting into all my old clothes again!  What would I give to be able to wear my old jeans, or my tucked-far-back-in-the-closet size 4 dresses! Yes, I confess, I have a hard time parting with my old clothes because I secretly dream of fitting into them again one day.  Hahaha!

I know, I’ve heard the spiel many times before–I MUST change my lifestyle, I MUST get off my butt and start to eat healthy!  IT’S TIME!!!  Haha!  And what better time to do it than now, the start of a new year!

As I mentioned in a previous post, I tried a barre3 class with my sisters last year. Even though I’m more of an aero kind of gal, I think I’m gonna give it another whirl.  Who knows, I may learn to love it!  Hahaha!  I am both excited and apprehensive for my first class.  Most of the girls kasi are so skinny and are really good at the poses already! Uh, pressured, much?!?  Hahaha!  On the other hand, I’m soooo looking forward to getting active, and being more fit too!  Am not exactly aiming to be super thin, but just to tone up a bit, and to feel more energized :).

On eating healthy, while I’m not about to start having damo aka salad for my meals, I thought the best approach would be to take baby steps.  I noticed also kasi that when I start taking extreme measures and deprive myself of my favorite food, I end up not being able to sustain this kind of diet. What works for me is doing things in moderation.  This translates into having a little bit of everything–“little” being the operative word.  So I will allow myself a piece of chocolate or two, and maybe brown rice for lunch, but then have a sensible and well-balanced dinner without the carbs and dessert na.

Another lifestyle habit that has been extremely helpful for me in the past that I’m going to resurrect is taking C-Lium everyday.  For those of you who are not familiar, C-Lium is my company’s psyllium fiber brand.

Fiber is very important, not just for overall stomach health and to regulate bowel movement, but more so to help lower cholesterol and blood sugar levels, and to aid the removal of excess fat in our bodies.  Translation:  not only does it remove all the “bad stuff” in your body, but it can also help you lose weight!!!  You don’t know how many success stories I’ve heard from family and friends regarding the wonders of C-Lium :).  Not only do these testimonies affirm the effectiveness of the product, but it’s a huge encouragement for our company that we have a wonderful product in our hands :).

One of the contestants from the show The Biggest Loser, Angela Lupango, lost 78 lbs. with C-Lium!

Another contestant, Art Mendoza, lost 129 lbs.! Wowowee! Ofcourse, he achieved this not only with C-Lium, but with diet and exercise as well 🙂

Personally, what I especially love is that C-Lium is all natural, and it does not cause any unwanted “accidents”.  I just take it in the morning or at night, 30 minutes before my meal, then the next morning…voila!  Literally, all the toxins and bad stuff are flushed away!!!  I feel “cleaner”, lighter and healthier!  It’s a great way to start my day :).

While it is also possible for me to eat foods that are rich in dietary fiber–nuts, wheats, cereal, vegetables, etc.–unfortunately, fiber can be easily depleted when cooked. Also, these sources may not be enough to provide the amount of fiber that my body needs daily.  C-Lium is actually one of the richest sources of fiber and has up to 14x more fiber than oatmeal or cereal!

I also love that C-Lium comes in 2 formats–husk or capsules–so that I have a choice on how to take it :).  I usually prefer the capsules, though, even if I have to take 10 a day :0.  And because I have to drink a lot of water to help ease the capsules down, I feel fuller and tend to eat less :).

When I run out of capsules, the husk, however, is not a bad alternative.  Because it is tasteless, I can just mix it with orange or pineapple juice, or sometimes iced tea.  I kinda like how the husk coagulates, and it feels like I’m drinking pulp bits 🙂 Hahaha!

So I am crossing my fingers that 2012 will be THE year for a healthier me.  There is certainly so much for me to look forward to in life–for myself, with my little girl, and with the H–so it makes sense to live in the healthiest way possible starting now!!!  I know, in the end, this relies heavily on my ability to make wiser food choices, to be more disciplined in exercising, and taking my fiber.  All I can say is, I am up to the task!!!

Wish me luck!!!

C-Lium Fibre is available in major drugstores and supermarkets nationwide

3 responses to “Musings of a COO: Lose More, Live More

  1. I know what you mean. I struggled so much with weight loss before. Read how I lost weight here: http://wonderwomanrises.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-weight-loss-success-story.html 🙂

  2. After reading your story, I went out and bought a box of c-lium fibre husk. I will join you in your journey of losing weight. Although you started early this year, I hope we both achieve our weight goals and live a better and healthier life looking, and feeling beautiful! Let’s not let all the skinny ladies have all the fun! We can do this! Go! Go! Fight! Fight! Fight!

    • Thanks, Ms Remy! We CAN definitely do this!!! Thanks for the vote of confidence, and wishing you much luck in your journey as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

