The Weekend that Was

Whew!  I had an extremely busy, but fulfilling weekend 🙂  Just wanted to share with you some bits and pieces of it…

My company has been a long-time partner of Habitat for Humanity.  To culminate our 65th year anniversary, we held a house build at their Navotas site. Habitat is attempting to put up 500 houses for the families from Manila Bay, who were displaced by Typhoon Pedring.

It was such a wonderful way to spend my Saturday!  Despite the fact that I didn’t get to see my little one and the H the whole day, and we were really subjected to manual, hard labor, I knew I was doing something that would mean a lot to a family in need.  It really made me realize how fortunate I am to have what I have, to be blessed with opportunities to serve others, and to be on the giving rather than the receiving end.  These kinds of experiences really put our lives in perspective, don’t they? 🙂

Sunday was family day :).  For a change, we got to spend time with the H’s side of the family. FIL (Father-in-Law) treated us to a sumptuous meal at HEAT.  They were celebrating something Canadian so all their waitstaff wore Canadian hockey jerseys, and the restaurant itself was decorated in a Canadian theme.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After lunch, we decided to bring A over to Shangri-La Plaza Mall.  I must admit, ever since we moved to the Taguig area, we rarely go out of our neck of the woods anymore.  So since this was one of those rare opportunities, I thought I’d make the most of it and give A her first carousel ride!

From the expression on her face, I’m not quite sure she enjoyed it, but at least she did not cry!  Haha!

Simple, yet fulfilling pleasures 🙂 *sigh* I wish everyday was like this 🙂

Have a great week ahead, guys!!! 🙂

P.S.  I have to admit, I was a bit “naughty” this weekend as well…Found a Php5000 gift certificate to Rustan’s in my bag that I had completely forgotten about but thought was a sign to indulge in this…

Yup–it’s the Dwell Studio Circles in Persimmon Sheet Set, and the Vintage Throw Pillow.  Happiness!!!

3 responses to “The Weekend that Was

  1. Loving your sheets Mia! The red really gives a pop to your room =)

  2. Gretchen Choa-Uy

    What a eventful weekend Mia! There is beauty all around you, from your family, to your philanthropy… and of course, your beddings! *snickers*
    Glad your daughter didn’t cry at the carousel, planning to bring my son there again. Hope he doesn’t cry too. =)

    • Thanks, Gretchen! As I’ve said in my blog, I’m truly very fortunate to have what I have 🙂 I am indeed blessed 🙂
      Regarding the carousel, I think it helped that we let my daughter watch on the sidelines first before letting her ride. She got to see what it was about, so she did not cry 🙂 Good luck with your son! I hope he enjoys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

