Musings of a COO: The Introduction

Allow me to explain.  No, I am not a Chief Operating Officer, as the title of this piece may imply, but for those of you who don’t know me, I work for a family business, and that officially makes me a COO—Child Of Owner.

Since my work is inextricably tied to my life, I thought that this blog would be a good venue to share bits and pieces of the things I love about my job. And I can honestly say, despite the challenges, I really DO love my job, and am grateful for the opportunities I have everyday to do such noble work.

Just to give a background, my family is in the business of healing and wellness.  We have been in this industry for several decades.  Our company was started post World War 2 by my grandparents, L and I, both graduates from UP.  It was their goal to be able to provide help to Filipinos whose lives were devastated by the war, and at the same time, support their growing family of 5 children.

Currently, there are 4 of us family members who are involved in the operations of the business.  We all handle our own departments and each have an area of focus. I am fortunate enough to be in a department where my talents are put to good use, and where my responsibilities involve things that I am extremely passionate about—design, public relations, and social responsibility.

Some of you may not realize, being a COO definitely has its perks, but is not without its share of difficulties as well.  Contrary to what many people believe, its not all play and no work –in fact, it’s quite the opposite.  There is so much expectation placed on a COO especially in terms of being a role model and inspiration for the workforce.  I basically have to watch my every move, and be careful with everything I say, to make sure I never give off a bad impression about my family or my company.  That’s a lot of pressure!!!

But what I choose to celebrate in this blog are the triumphs and victories in my worklife.  Hopefully, you will find inspiration in my stories, and share my moments of happiness, fun and pride 🙂

Stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

