I Waaaaant!!!

Aaack!  I can’t believe I missed this… 😦

Last July, the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) and eBay launched, YOU CAN’T FAKE FASHION, a campaign to raise awareness against counterfeit goods.  eBay and CFDA collaborated to create a collection of unique canvas bags, designed by 50 designers such as Diane Von Furstenberg, Phillip Lim, Reed Krakoff, and Tory Burch, to name a few.

You Can't Fake Fashion Standard Tote

The collection was sold exclusively at eBay Fashion Vault.  The Standard Tote sold for $35, while the customized totes retailed for $150.  Not bad for a designer bag 🙂

This kind of reminds me of the time when Anya Hindmarch collaborated with Whole Foods and came out with the I Am Not A Plastic Bag tote.  Just like the CFDA bags, these totes were sold only in Whole Foods stores.  Women went crazy for these bags–it was the must-have of that (summer) season!  The lines to get inside the store, however, were blocks and blocks and blocks long! I heard that some people even lined up as early as 5am just to get a bag!

Luckily, my very generous friend S gifted me with the very-much coveted bag for my birthday 🙂  She totally saved me the trouble of having to line up, or having to stalk the bag on eBay and pay some ridiculously high price for it :o.

Anyway, back to the bags…Here are the ones that I liked the most.  Since the likelihood of owning one now is practically nil, I guess I’ll just have to content myself with these pictures (sniff :().

Brian Atwood

Catherine Malandrino

Coach--such a classic!

Donna Karan

Jill Stuart

Loeffler Randall

Marchesa

Reed Krakoff

Tory Burch

3.1 Phillip Lim--my favorite!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you have a great weekend, Chicas! 🙂

3 responses to “I Waaaaant!!!

  1. Did you catch this this year?!?!? It was just on last week! I had every intention to snag a one-of-a-kind. I was counting the days, put the event in my calendar and set my phone alarms, but I guess it was just not meant to be! I was taking care of E and she just did not allow me to focus on the purchase. And I’m sure there were a million others trying to do the same! I was really bummed. At the risk of sounding shallow, I consider myself not only a serious shopper, but a very good “hunter”. (A former boss once tasked me with finding a certain pair of Blahniks for her. Haha) I think it was God’s way of saying “Stop it with the bags please!!!”. Point taken.

    • Oh my! I didn’t know that! Shucks, that’s the second time I’ve missed it! How sad 😦 Maybe it is a sign that I didn’t know about it as well. Hahaha! Baka nga God is also telling me “Hwag na muna” kasi He knows I’ll be attempting to buy a bag when I go to Paris in October 😛

  2. P.s. Someone posted the Jill Stuart on eBay several months ago! I intended to get it, but I guess the seller changed her mind ’cause the listing was taken down.

Leave a Reply

