Saturday Morning Snuggle

“Mommy” is one of the many hats I wear.

Almost a year ago, the H and I were blessed with the birth of our daughter, A.  It was truly a life-altering experience–one we’re still getting used to–but a positive change, nevertheless 🙂  Despite the lack of sleep and constant fatigue, A is our everyday dose of happy 🙂

Unfortunately, while A has graduated from waking every 2 hours, she still manages to get up very early.  Today, was no exception.  It was 4am when I was awakened from my peaceful slumber by A’s cries through the baby monitor.  She was hungry. Hubby had already prepared her bottle of milk, and was trying to soothe her, but it seems she wanted her mommy (hehe).

Delirious with lack of sleep, I proceeded to feed her, and settled onto my favorite rocking chair.  After feeding and a 20-minute burp time, A started to rub her eyes again–a sure sign that she was still sleepy.

Normally, A’s favorite mode of sleep is being rocked while perched over my shoulder.  But this morning, I so did not have the strength to sway her to and fro, and so I decided to just lay down on the couch, and lay her on my chest.

I used to do that a lot when she was a baby.  Even though our pediatrician constantly warned me not to do so, there is an intoxicating rush of emotion that I always feel having A nuzzle her head on my chest.  Haaaay, sarap talaga 🙂  And to be able to bury my nose in her sweet-smelling hair–super nakakagigil!  Truly one of the best mommy moments 🙂

However, as A grew older and more “malikot” she no longer liked snuggling with mommy and constantly rejected my attempts to cuddle her against my chest for a nap 😦  So as I lay down on the couch this morning, I silently hoped that A would stay put, and give me the couple more minutes of sleep that I so needed.

After wrestling with me for a couple of seconds, I proceeded to massage her head with my fingers.  Suddenly, the moving stopped, and lo and behold, A was fast asleep!  Thank goodness! 🙂

As I stared down at my daughter, and relished the feeling of having her little arms surrounding me in a hug, I could not help but feel thankful again for this wonderful blessing the H and I have received.

No matter how difficult and frustrating parenting may be, the rewards outweigh the hardships a billion fold!  So to all the mommies out there–I’m sure you’ve heard this a gajillion times–it DOES get better.  There is a light at the end of that seemingly long and endless tunnel.  Haha!

And to wake up every morning to A’s snuggle and kisses totally makes everything worth it, at least in my opinion 🙂

Have a happy Saturday, folks!

Leave a Reply

