Buwan ng Wika — Another Mommy First!

Last Friday was the culmination of Buwan ng Wika– literally, a month-long celebration of the Filipino language, and all things Filipino.  At the same time, I experienced another Mommy first– A’s first school program!

While I was excited to see my child perform, I was also a bit stressed about finding the perfect Filipino costume for her to wear.  Trust me, I can get a bit obsessive and maarte with these things.  Hahaha!  And a bit to my dismay, A’s teachers did not give us much time to come up with something for her to wear. As much as I didn’t want to, I knew I had to buy something from the store and ready-made, which meant that it would probably need some major alteration!  Thank goodness our yaya knows how to sew!  Hahaha!

Here is the little one, modelling her baro’t saya  :).  I think she looks adorable!

Here she is singing the national anthem.  Look at how both her palms are over her “breast”!  I love it!  I really hope my little girl grows up to love her country the same way I do :).

I held my breath a little, but in the end I heaved a sigh of relief–the little miss performed!  And a great performance, at that!  She sang and did the actions to Sampung Mga Daliri, the song assigned to her class.  Thank goodness!  I didn’t want to be one of those parents whose child froze or did nothing on stage…Or worse, caused a ruckus!  Hahaha, pressure for A!

Here I am, the proud mama, with my little performer!

It was a good day :).

4 responses to “Buwan ng Wika — Another Mommy First!

  1. Congratulations! My daughter is now almost 15 years old. Please continue to enjoy your daughter at every age. It seemed like yesterday when my daughter was so small.

    • Thank you :) I’m sure I’ll be saying the same thing a couple of years from now. Even now I continue to be amazed at how time flies so fast!

  2. So cute your little girl in Filipiniana costume. :)

Leave a Reply

