Bungalow 300

I think I am a frustrated interior decorator.  This explains why I always feel the need to decorate and re-decorate my home.  Hahaha!  Or I guess I also have an unusually high sawa factor and need to be excited and stimulated by my surroundings on a fairly regular basis.  If it’s not buying new artwork, it’s purchasing new accessories.  If it’s not switching around my furniture, it’s changing my throw pillow covers.  Whatever it is, the objective is to surround my family with all things pretty, and to make our home both liveable and cozy :). However, while I am very much into aesthetics, I always keep in mind that functionality is important too.  So not only is everything in our home nice to look at, but it also serves a purpose :).

Being the design junkie that I am, I am always on the look out for items that will make our home look interesting and fun.  I especially like items that have a story to tell, or that are locally made.  I also love the idea of upcycled or repurposed furniture, or restoring classic pieces to their former glory.

One local brand that I’ve encountered that offers all of this is Bungalow 300. It was started by two friends, Marga and Vernice, who share a common interest in vintage modern living.

My first encounter with Bungalow 300 was through a blog.  At that time, I was scouring the internet for pictures of chevron-patterned throw pillows and came across this image:

I was immediately smitten!  I fell in love with the bright, bold colors and patterns. I knew that these pillows would be the perfect pop against my semi-neutral living space.

As fate would have it, Bungalow 300 was having an open house somewhere in Makati during that time.  I coerced the H to pass by with me one weekend, and it was a visit that yielded not only the chevron-patterned throw pillows for my sofa, but a new set of placemats as well!  Success!!!

Since then, Bungalow 300 has remained in my radar as I am constantly on the lookout for design inspiration and creative accents for my home.

Early this year, I was quite excited to receive a notification through email that Bungalow 300 expanded to a space of its own in Alabang.  Last week, after weeks of failed attempts, the H and I finally found time to drop by (and this time, there was no need for coercion!  Hahaha!).  I was very excited to see what new eye candy Marga and Vernice had to entice us with.

This is what we saw:

Needless to say, the entire shop was beautifully decorated!  Each item was thoughtfully displayed, each nook and cranny was creatively composed and put together to highlight the wonderfully restored furniture and other home accessories.

I kept on thinking to myself, “Oooooh, I want this!”, or “I could totally live here!”. Hahaha!  It’s times like these that I soooo wish I lived in an actual house so I can find room for all the art, furniture and decor that I “lust” after.  Hahaha!

The H had a blast scouring the shop too.  His finds?  Room deodorizers, diffusers, and massage oils!  Hahaha!  Yep, I trained him well :).

We eventually left Bungalow 300 with a bunch of stuff for our home and pasalubongs for my sister who lives in NYC.  Mission accomplished!  Definitely, the H and I were both happy campers as we each ended up with our own loot for the day :). Happiness!

I do recommend a visit to Bungalow 300, for those of you who don’t mind trekking all the way to the south.  It is definitely a treasure trove of finds for the home, and a place filled with so much inspiration and creativity.  If you are a similarly frustrated interior decorator like me,  I’m sure you will love it there!

Bungalow 300 is located at 7 Buencamino Street, Alabang, Muntinlupa.

Photo credit: www.always-saturday.com

2 responses to “Bungalow 300

  1. Thanks so so much for the post! I’m so sad that I wasn’t around when you dropped by! I hope to see you the next time you brave a trip to Alabang! hugs!!!

    • You’re welcome, Vernice! Congrats to you and Marga–you have an awesome place!!! And definitely, I’ll let you know next time we decide to pass by :)

Leave a Reply

