Happy Ever After

Today I am reliving one of the most wonderful days in my life–my wedding day :)

Four years ago, on 1-6-08, to be exact, I promised to love, to hold, and to cherish, in sickness and in health, in good times and in bad…and it’s the best promise I’ve ever made!

Blissfully happy on our wedding day :)

Not to say that this journey has not had its shares of ups and downs, challenges and frustrations–I’d be lying if I gave you that impression.  But the fact that I’m married to a very caring, supportive, generous, thoughtful and responsible man who loves me and our daughter to pieces, makes me feel like I’m the luckiest person alive :)

Marriage has made me a better version of myself.  It has pushed and prodded me to go beyond my comfort zone and to learn many important and basic lessons in life such as proper communication, having more realistic expectations of my spouse, and learning to compromise.  There are many more things I am learning about myself and the H everyday, but that’s what makes marriage all the more exciting for me.  I wouldn’t say we have the perfect marriage yet, but getting to “happily ever after” and trying different approaches is all part of this wonderful journey.

When I was a swingin’ single, I used to think I was happy and content with who I was, and what I had accomplished in life.  Marrying the H introduced me to a different kind of happy–one that was more selfless and profound.  It is difficult to explain, but entering into this new phase in my life gave me such a deeper reason to do what I do, and to continously strive to make myself better.

I am so glad that before the H and I got married, we made it a priority to attend counselling sessions that equipped us for the road ahead.  Every weekend, we went up to Tagaytay to see our priest, Fr. Dennis Paez, who advised and prepared us for marriage.  I am proud to say that while I had stars in my eyes, I also had a good understanding of the trials and challenges that married life had in store.  I went into marriage knowing full well that it wasn’t going to be a bed of roses, and that we had to constantly work at it everyday to make it a success.

I was also very impressed at the commitment the H had to go through all of the sessions with me.  It made me feel very assured that he would be a great husband, and a loving father to our children.

Fast forward to four years later, and I can truly say that I am still very much in love with the man I married even though he is much different from the man I met and fell in love with (and I expected that change).  Throughout the years, the H has been my rock and my refuge, and I can only thank the Lord for giving him to me.

Writing this post has allowed me to reflect on these past years, and makes me look forward with anticipation to the many many more adventures the H and I have in store for us–the travels, the opportunities, more children…!  I am excited about the endless possibilities of new experiences to share–both good and bad–that will only make our bond stronger and more enduring.

Cheers to 4 years and counting, hon!  We’ve done a tremendously great job, and I am ready for more of everything with you!  Love, love, love, M :)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

