The Brunch Files: Cafe 1771

To say that I live for the weekends, is an understatement.  After a long and hectic work week, there’s nothing I look forward to more than two days of rest, relaxation, and spending quality time with the family.

Saturday for the H and I usually means brunch.  It’s kind of a carry-over tradition from my NY days when my gal pals and I usually kicked-off the weekend with brunch in some chi chi village restaurant.  I love, love, love having brunch!  It always brings back good memories and makes me feel quite glamorous and sophisticated :).  It’s also such a “Sex and the City” thing to do.  Hahaha! Although when I have A in tow, it kinda makes the experience a bit more wholesome and PG-rated :)

Today, the H, A and I decided to go out of our usual neighborhood to meet Ninang M at Cafe 1771 at El Pueblo in Pasig.  This was our first time to eat there, although the H and I are regulars at its sister restaurant, Sentro.

I was very excited to go to this restaurant mostly because I had read a lot about and seen so many pictures of the interiors, but I had never seen it personally. Among all the restaurants of the Chateau Group, I think Cafe 1771 has the best design and ambience.  All the elements–the furniture, the accessories, the color scheme–are cohesive and well-executed.  I like how the walls are done in white with touches of blue.  The pop of color comes from the fuschia and blue chairs–which contrasts the clean aesthetic of the restaurant nicely, and keeps it from looking too austere and boring.

I also liked that the restaurant had a bright and airy feel to it.  It made me feel very relaxed and at home.  The chairs were also quite plush and comfortable to sit on.  The mounted ceramic plates on the wall added to the homey vibe.  I actually felt like I was sitting in my own living/dining room.  It made the brunch experience for me so much more enjoyable :)

On to the food…there were so many yummy things on the menu that I could not decide what to order!  I’m the type of person who always wants to try something new, but ends up getting the same old, same old–hahaha!  True to form, I almost ended up with my usual brunch order of Baguio Longganisa na Durog.  It’s a good thing M suggested we share our orders so we ended up trying their Croque Monsieur, and their Sour Cream Pancakes with a side order of Crispy Bacon.

The verdict?  I thought the Sour Cream Pancakes were quite yummy!  I loved that they were fluffy, and had the right size and thickness.  It went very well with the orange-flavored syrup, which I’m surprised I actually enjoyed since I am strictly a maple syrup type of gal :)  The bacon was perfectly crispy, and I liked that they gave us several big slices (not your usual shriveled up bacon) on our plate.  It was also not very oily, so I didn’t feel guilty that I had more than one piece :)

As for the Croque Monsieur, while it looked mouth-wateringly good with the cheesy, gooey stuff on top, it lacked a little bit of taste.  I think it was because the slice of ham inside was too thin.  I hardly tasted it.  In fact, if I didn’t know that a Croque Monsieur was a glorified grilled ham and cheese sandwich, I would have totally missed it.  Oh well…

Cafe 1771 definitely had its share of hits and a very minor miss, but I wouldn’t mind trekking back to the Pasig area to try the other yummy items on the menu. Even their pastries looked to-die-for (although that would deserve a separate blog post on its own)!

Needless to say, this Saturday brunch was a successful jump start to the weekend.  :) Hmmm… I wonder…where to next?

Adios, Chicas!

2 responses to “The Brunch Files: Cafe 1771

  1. You should try the Tomato-Cheese Fondue next time, although probably not for brunch. I’m craving just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

